Skip to content

CLI: on checkout, warn if mapping a workflow with a changed name #1600

Open

Description

@josephjclark

When checking out a workflow, the CLI will track whether a workflow has been renamed. This will usually happen through a pull when the workflow was renamed on the server).

Rather than delete local files, the CLI will track the workflow to the existing folder. So if you rename a workflow "Joe" to "Frank", then after checkout the workflow named "Frank" will sit in a folder called "joe" (because Joe was previously checked out).

The alternative is that that the old workflow folder is deleted, or other wise any logs, notes, inputs, outputs or anything else in the workflow will be orphaned to a different folder, creating a mess.

Two questions that fall out of this:

  1. We should probably warn uses when we're doing this through a log line
  2. Users may need some option to restructure the local file system to match. Basically to re-sync any local identifers (without losing data). This is probably a new CLI command, but checkout probably has a mode to support it.
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    • Status
      New Issues

    Milestone

    No milestone

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions